finger painting

Abi and Rae are five year old twins I have the pleasure of getting paid to hang out with from time to time. Today we finger painted.

Upon opening the kit, the girls were dismayed at the few colors we had to work with. “This is boring,” they declared. “These are primary colors, ladies, and they lead to many possibilities,” I said.

I showed them how to swirl the colors about so a golden sun could greet the evergreens and sea. And pink skies could rest above purple mountains. “That’s so beautiful, Alyssa, can we keep it or will you give it to someone special?”

“You girls are special to me,” I replied, “will you keep it?” They delightedly nodded in assent.

As I watched them create universes from their fingertips, I let myself drown in the blue.

20131111-211650.jpg

Leave a Reply

