good morrow.

20131108-082203.jpg

Good morning- I am here, accompanied by my cat and a new book. Although my back hurts a little, sleeping on the couch is one of my favourite things. Waking up on the couch with my cat entwined in the blanket and somehow burrowed under my knees, I have just discovered, is another one of my favourite things.

Two weeks ago when I asked a customer what his plans were for the rest of the day, he first listed some household tasks and projects. “But more importantly,” he continued, “I am just going to be alive and happy!” He thanked me for the delicious coffee and left, not knowing the deep impression he made on me.

Since that day, I have been trying to emulate his philosophy. I have found it difficult when I’ve seen just too much death and destruction in this world. Even yesterday, our family found out that my uncle has cancer (the doctors are optimistic, but still not easy news). Just another negative to a long list of negatives. I’ve found it difficult to keep such an optimistic approach to daily life when, really, for this season of life, I have just been trying to survive moment to moment.

However, here I am- on this red velvet couch with my cat and a book, alive. If you are reading this, you are alive as well! Take a second to think about how cool that is. Now, think about how to give meaning to this existence by finding happiness today. For me, that starts with morning yoga and taking my vitamins, class with a favourite professor, counseling, lunch with friends, picking up my pay check, reading the newspaper, and maybe some grand adventure this evening.

I’ll end with a favourite quote:

Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.

-Dr. Seuss

Have a lovely day, all.

Leave a Reply

